About Michal Oren

Michal Oren is an award winning conductor and a clarinettist from Tel-Aviv, Israel. Michal's work represents a contemporary modern approach aiming to combine classical music with additional arts as a new step in the 21st century's cultural creation.
Michal was awarded distinction for her Bachelor of Music in orchestral conducting from the Buchmann-Mehta School of Music in Tel Aviv University. She is currently studying her Master of Performance in Orchestral Conducting, with a full scholarship, at the Royal College of Music in London under the conductors Toby Purser, Peter Stark and Howard Williams. Among Michal's teachers are the conductors Yi-An Xu, Doron Salomon, Dr. Dale Lonis and the IPO principal clarinettist Yevgeny Yehudin.
In 2020 Michal won the first prize in the conducting competition of the Buchmann-Mehta School of Music with Haifa Symphony Orchestra. Michal is a Victor and Lilian Hochhauser Scholar, Residence Music Scholar of The Robert Anderson Trust, and since 2015, Scholar of the America-Israel Cultural Foundation.
As part of her modern approach, Michal initiated together with Reut Ferster, the manager of Petach-Tikve Museum of Contemporary Art, a new chamber orchestra in Israel named the "Museum Orchestra". The orchestra repertoire is based on the museum exhibitions. The orchestra preforms at the museum concert hall and galleries as well as in other artistic spaces.
Michal’s guest conducting appearances includes the Jerusalem Symphony Orchestra, the Israeli Chamber Orchestra, Haifa Symphony Orchestra, Jerusalem Street Orchestra, Hertford Symphony Orchestra, Central London Orchestra, Berlin Sinfonietta, Pazardjik Symphony Orchestra and more. In addition, Michal was the conductor and musical director of the Israeli Flutes Ensemble for two seasons (2020-2022). During her time as musical director, Michal established together with the Isreal Music Institue a new Israeli composition competition for the Flutes Ensemble.

Michal Oren

Conducting, Clarinet, Classical

London, United Kingdom
Grant Recipient