• Moshe Sharet and Amin Gargurah

    Creative Excellence Grants (Sharett)


    Apply Here

The Creative Excellence Scholarships program, for which the America-Israel Cultural Foundation (AICF) is best known, started in 1955. Scholarship auditions are conducted annually in the fields of Dance – ballet, and modern; Music – all orchestral instruments, voice, piano, saxophone, conducting, composition, jazz, and Arab music; Theater – acting; and Visual Arts – painting, sculpture, photography, multimedia, video, visual communications, fashion, jewelry, industrial and textile design.

Hundreds of young artists deemed to be the most excelling in their discipline are awarded scholarship support that enables them to live up to their creative potential. Artists in Music and Dance typically receive ongoing support starting around ages 10-13 and continuing support through ages 21-35, depending on the discipline.

Over 18,000 artists have benefitted from AICF’s study scholarships since the establishment of the Sharett Program. Many of the recipients are currently members of Israel’s leading orchestras, dance troupes, and theatre companies. Others present in museums and galleries in Israel and abroad, have widespread international careers, and are active in the television and film industries.

Our recipients make up a substantial segment of the cultural infrastructure in Israel today. They are active as creative artists, teachers, directors of art institutions, and artistic directors. AICF recipients contribute to the enrichment of the cultural life in Israel, influence arts education and act as cultural ambassadors who garner Israel’s prestige and respect worldwide.

The Foundation’s financial support is vital for the demanding studies undertaken by the young audition takers. In addition, over the years the scholarships’ significance has been known to extend beyond their monetary value and to act as a seal of approval and recognition of the young artists’ abilities and their prospects.

The selection of recipients is driven by the goals of our mission. In collaboration with the best professionals in each field, the Foundation’s staff hold approximately 1,000 auditions every year.

For More Programs

Top-caliber musicians assess the applicants and make recommendations for grants. All candidates are assessed by 3 independent judges, specific to each field and discipline. Each jury is comprised of top artists in their field with significant careers in Israel and/or abroad. Each year approximately 40 judges participate in the evaluation process across all fields.

Schedule and requirements are subject to change. For the most up-to-date information, please refer to the AICF IL page in each field.

For further information:
Jessica Hadler, Program Director – [email protected];
Ophir Lotan, Program Administrator – [email protected]


Notable AICF Grant Recipients – Individuals and Institutions

Itzhak Perlman, violin, 1956-1964; Pinchas Zukerman, violin, 1957-1967; Joseph Kalichstein, piano, 1958-1963; Yefim Bronfman, piano, 1973-1977; Miriam Fried, violin, 1956-1968; Gil Shaham, violin, 1980-1983; Sharon Kam, clarinet, 1984-1993; Daniel Barenboim, conducting, 1954; Anat Cohen, Latin music and jazz, 1992-1994; Avishai Cohen, jazz, 1992-2003; Rita Yahan-Farouz, singer, 1985-1986; David Broza, jazz, 1980; Jerusalem Quartet: Alexander Pavlovsky, violin, 1992-1999; Sergei Bresler, violin, 1991-1999; Ori Kam, viola, 1991-1999; Kyril Zlotnikov, cello, 1991-1999; Johnny Gandelsman, violin, 1991-1999; Itamar Zorman, violin, 1999-2009; Roman Rabinovich, piano, 1996-2010; Israel Philharmonic Orchestra, 1943-1999; Haifa Symphony Orchestra, 1953-1996; Rubin Academy, 1963-2000; Culture to the People (Omanut La’am), 1980-1998; Jerusalem Music Centre’s Young Musicians Unit, 1991-2005

Visual Arts and Design
Raida Adon, art, 2002-2003; Menashe Kadishman, painting/sculpture, 1960-1962; Boaz Vaadia, painting/sculpture, 1968-1972; Michal Rovner, 1987-1993; Zigi Ben-Haim, painting, 1967-1971; Joshua Neustein, abroad fellowship; Sigalit Landau, multimedia, 1994-1996; Uri Tzaig, painting/sculpture, 1992-1996; Michal Heiman, photography, 1989-1990; Pavel Wolberg, photography, 1994-1996; Yehudit Sasportas, painting/sculpture, 1994-2000; Israel Museum, 1959-1986; Tel Aviv Museum of Art, 1965-1992; Haifa Museum of Ancient Art, 1953-1974; Bezalel Academy of Art and Design, 1960-2000; Acquisition of Israeli Art for Various Museums, 1987-2005

Ohad Naharin, 1975-1977; Rami Be’er, 1977-1978; Yehudit Arnon, abroad fellowship; Ido Tadmor, 1982-1985; Zvi Gotheiner, 1971-1975; Idan Sharabi, 2000-2006; Batsheva Dance Company, 1960-2000; Bat-Dor Be’er Sheva Dance Studio, 1953-2000; Inbal Dance Theatre, 1965-1987; Kibbutz Dance Company, 1984-2000; Israel Ballet, 1984-1995

Film and Television
Nir Bergman, 1994-1999; Maya Dreifuss, 2003-2006; Eytan Fox, 1990-1991; Tal Granit, 2001-2002; Shlomit Hagoel-Trigger, 1982-1983, 2001-2003; Ido Har, 1999-2002; Tomer Heymann, 1998-2000; Asaf Korman, 2004-2006; Dover Koshashvili, 1995-1997; Shuli Kalderon, 1998-1999; Leora Kamenetzky, 1988-89; Nadav Lapid, 2003-2007; Talya Lavie, 2003-2006; Shmuel Maoz, 1988-1989; Yair Nahshon, 2004-2005; Nitai Netzer, 1996-1997; Tali Shalom Ezer, 2005-2007; Tom Shoval, 2004-2005; David Wallach, 1967-1967; Keren Yedaya, 1996-1998; Moshe Zonder, 1990-1991; The Sam Spiegel Film & Television School, Jerusalem, 1989-2000; Jerusalem Cinemateque, 1989-1994; Tel Aviv Cinemateque, 1989-1993; Young Filmmakers Group, 1995-2003

Hanna Azulai-Hasfari, acting, 1981-1982; Liraz Charhi, 2001-2001; Sasson Gabai, 1970-1971; Netta Garti , acting 2002-2003; Shira Geffen, 1993-1994; Carlos Gharzuzi, theatre 2016-17; Roni Pinkovitz, directing, 1986-1989; Mark Ivanir, acting 1988-1990; Dana Ivgy, 2004-2005; Rotem Keinan, acting 2003-04; Dror Keren, 1986-1987; Nir Levy, 1994-1995; Keren Mor, 1984-1985; Moshe Naor, directing, 1996-1997; Keren Peles, 2003-2004;
Rita, 1984-1986; Sandra Sade, 1970-1971; Bat-Chen Sebag, 2005-2005; Yuval Semo, 1997-1999; Tali Sharon, 2003-2004; Oded Teomi, acting, 1958-1959; Itay Tiran, acting, 2000-2002; Sara Von Schwarze, 1990-1993; Anat Waxman, 1982-1984; Cameri Theatre, 1943-1985; Habima National Theatre, 1948-1974; Haifa Municipal Theatre, 1949-1987; Jerusalem Theatre, 1951-1974; Studio Nissan Nativ, 1983-1999

Our Donors